Research into 2Tone and Ska Fashion

Idea and Concept 

My concept and idea is to combine Coventry’s local history with fashion from the 2tone era in todays modern style.

I want this project to be about fashion and to demonstrate my fashion photography skills as I think this is relevant to Coventry’s history.

Internet Research 

In order to start of my research in to Ska fashion I looked on media sites such as Pintrest and Instagram.

I put collages of images together to help me identify a clear style and to pick out key things i liked about the fashion.

This research helped me to have a better understanding of the fashion, I could clearly identify what was key in the fashion which was is useful for when I get clothing together for future shoots.

Particular items of fashion which were popular:

  • Pork Pie Hat 
  • Harrington Jackets 
  • Stay press trousers 
  • Ben Sherman, Fred Perry Polo shirts 
  • Doc Martins, Loafers 
  • Ties, braces, socks 

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 21.05.12 Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 21.05.17

Toni Tyre Exhibition

http://www.belgrade.co.uk/news-and-blogs/news-list/2-tone-captured-in-new-photography-exhibition-at-t/

In order to get a further feel of the fashion I visited an exhibition, which was on at the Belgrade theatre complimenting a play which was all about the 2tone scene in Coventry.

The exhibition had some fantastic imagery on the wall and was of a high interest to me as I was researching the fashion of that time period.

Seeing this fashion in authentic photographs gave me a good understanding to this fashion.

Whilst at the exhibition I could hear the ”Three minute heroes” show in full swing, I could hear the live music being played in the back ground. This all added to my experience of visiting the gallery.

I decided that it would be worth introducing myself to the manager of the stage show and ask if they had any props or clothing I could use for a future shoot.

http://youtu.be/v8h5S7tH2h4

http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/whats-on/music-nightlife-news/coventry-music-museum-launches-exhibition-7954746

IMG_2055

2Tone Museum 

To research some more I discovered a museum, which displays everything to do with the 2tone era in Coventry. This really helped to me to get a feel of what it was like living in Coventry during this time.

In the museum you could find fashion which dated back to this era, this was really interesting for my research as I could get a real feel of what the fashion looked like first hand.

2_tone_venue

 

Coventry Historical Forum & Interviews 

Screen Shot 2014-10-31 at 10.24.42 Screen Shot 2014-10-31 at 10.05.57

To further my research I went back to the Coventry historical forum and asked some questions to the general public regarding any knowledge they knew about this scene.

 

Herbet Art Gallery Archive

I visited and archive which displayed newspaper clippings, flyers, books and magazine cut outs from this time period. I was particularly looking for photographer’s names who captured this fashion on camera so I could contact them and ask some questions.

Reading 

16 finalcover_sticker_dps

These books explained and displayed the fashion of Ska and also information about Coventry during the time.

In the 80s the 2tone scene came to and end because of riots up and down the country, Coventry became very poor and places that these bands played at, closed down leaving the 2tone scene with no where to go.

This information was made in to a song by the band ‘’the specials’’ which was comically named ‘’ghost town’’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WhhSBgd3KI

Photographers 

Toni Tyre – 

Local photographer Toni Tyre captured the 2tone scene on his film cameras, he captured the likes of the selector and the specials. He also captured the people of this time

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 11.05.38

Chalkie Davies – 

http://www.snapgalleries.com/photographers/chalkie-davies/

Davies shot dozen of iconic artists in the 70s and 80s, including David Bowie, The Specials, Thin Lizzy, David Bowie and Debbie Harry.

Chalkie now works in New York running his own studio.

screen-shot-2013-09-28-at-080727 chalkie-davies-4 pic 010

 

Archive  

Furthering my research I visited and archive at the Herbert Art Gallery. This displays manny historical artefacts about Coventr. I was interested in researching about the history of 2tone in Coventry. Whilst researching I founf  newspaper clippings, flyers, books and magazine cut outs from this time period. I was particularly looking for photographer’s names who captured this fashion on camera so I could contact them and ask some questions.

IMG_2818 IMG_2825 IMG_2833 IMG_2822

Interviews 

 Interviews 

In order to find out more information for my project and research I decided that a good way to conduct information would be to interview local people.

I designed some questions which related to what I wanted to find out about but I also found I would adapt my questions during the interview.

I conducted these interviews over a time period of a week.

Interview 1: 

Interview with Dave Howard aged 65

I conducted an informal chat with Dave, I noted down interesting things he was saying whilst we had a conversation.

So were you a MOD or a Rocker?

‘’I really was a switcher, a switcher is someone who was a MOD by day and rocker by the night. I had the MOD haircut though. ’’ 

Where did you guys use to go?

‘’The main place we use to hang out was the Il Cadore coffee bar in town where they played MOD records, I don’t know what it’s called now but the ‘greecers’ took over the shop and that was the end of that’’

What are greecers?

‘’Greecers was our nickname for the rockers, they were such dirty people and would wear the same trousers for a whole month.’’

Dave remembered he had some photographs of him when he was a MOD/Rocker he also had some old CDs and Vinyl from the era.

The photographs really helped me to get a feel of what it was like for him during this time period.

He played me some music from the bands small faces who were a particularly popular with MODs and also showed me other artists from this time period.

Did you ride a scooter?

‘’No but I borrowed my fiend’s lambretta once, it had a massive seat with a very high back, it was covered in spotlights and flags, that was the fashion. ‘’

 

Interview 2: 

Interview with Jayne Holden aged 55

Informal chat with member of the public

Where you a MOD or Rocker during the rein of the fashion?

‘’I was a rocker’’

What did being a rocker involve?

”Mainly motor bike rides and if you wanted to be extra ‘cool’ you would wear skinny jeans, open toe sandals white t-shirt and a black leather jacket all weathers”.

”We always called our helmets lids”

Did hells angels and rockers have any relative to the Rockers sub culture?

”We would pull up at a pub with our big loud bikes and play the part but would go into the pub and drink orange juice, where as the Hells Angels would drink beer by the bucket load and start fights with us. We didn’t want a fight and so we would just move on if there was any issues. We were on the bikes to enjoy the experience more then any thing”.

 

Interview 3:

Interview with Gary Price aged 61

I briefly interviewed a member of the public who was alive whilst the 2Tone scene was happening in Coventry and elsewhere.

What bands were ruling Coventry during this time?

”Coventry during those years was buzzing, bands such as The Specials, the Selector and The Beat ruled the town”.

What was the fashion for men and woman like during this time?

”The Specials music had a huge influence on fashion, 2 Tone was the joining of black and white people making music together. The style which is today iconic to Coventry”.

”There was MODs and Rockers then, which you were either one of. MODs were people who rode scooters and rockers rode motorbikes’.

Interview 4: 

James Bonsor ages 63

Informal question to member of the public

 

‘What was far Gosford street like during the 2 tone era?

”Far Gosford Street is where it all started, the bands use to shop down there, it was a creative area”.

”My neighbour was actually a member from The Specials, he lived at No10 round the corner. I used to run around being his brothers rodie (helper) at gigs around Coventry”.

‘’Yeah Gosford street was a happening place then’’.

Leave a comment